District 1 Supervisor
Photo of Supervisor Dave Pine

Dave Pine was first elected to the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors in a special election in May 2011, and served as Board President in 2014.  He represents District 1 which includes Burlingame, Hillsborough, Millbrae, and portions of San Bruno and South San Francisco; the unincorporated communities of San Mateo Highlands, Baywood Park and Burlingame Hills; and the San Francisco Airport.

As a board member for the SF Bay Conservation and Development Commission, the SF Bay Restoration Authority, and the San Francisquito Creek Joint Powers Authority, Supervisor Pine has worked extensively on the intersecting issues of flood control, sea level rise and tidal land restoration. He also serves on the governing boards of the Peninsula Clean Energy Authority, the San Mateo County Transit District (SamTrans), the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board (Caltrain), the Association of Bay Area Governments, the Bay Conservation & Development Commission, the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority, the Bay Area Regional Collaborative, and Joint Venture Silicon Valley.

Supervisor Pine previously was a school board member for the Burlingame School District from 2003 to 2007 and the San Mateo Union High School District from 2007 to 2011. He is also a past president of the San Mateo County School Boards Association.

Before focusing his career on public service, Pine worked as an attorney representing start-up and high-growth technology companies. After working in private practice with Fenwick & West, he served as Vice President and General Counsel for Radius, Excite@Home, and Handspring.                                                                                      

Originally from New Hampshire, Pine is a graduate of Dartmouth College, where he was awarded a Harry S. Truman scholarship, and the University of Michigan Law School.

Supervisor Pine was elected to his second full term in June of 2016.

Current Term Expires January 2021

Email Address: 
Phone Number: 
(650) 363-4571